So far I’ve restrained myself. I might have mentioned Radiohead once or twice, and sure the name for this blog comes from a Radiohead song, but overall I think I’ve kept my tad of an obsession neatly under wraps.

But I have to be honest with you: I’m bursting at the seams. In case you’re not in the know, Radiohead released their last album Hail To The Thief in 2003 and I’ve been patiently waiting for the next one ever since. The band took their leisurely time, but just recently the long awaited news finally arrived: they have now finished recording and mixing what fans have been lovingly referring to as ‘LP7′ for months!!

However. A BIG however. With Hail To The Thief, Radiohead’s six album deal with EMI ended and there is as of yet no sign of a new deal. They taunt me so! Just think, somewhere a brand spanking new Radiohead album is just sitting there, waiting to make its way into my house, god only knows when. Persistent rumours maintain it won’t be released until 2008! Oh the horror.

This leaves me with a big dilemma. I prefer not to listen to whatever dodgy material has leaked online or watch shaky pixilated live recordings before the finished material is put out there by the band for the world to listen to. But come on people, 2008? I need my fix.

One of the most promising ‘fixes’ I came across over the last year, is a solo performance by Thom of a song called ‘Videotape’ which is a definite contender for LP7. The recording dates from late 2006 and comes from Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich’s From The Basement. If this is any indication of what’s to be expected, I can’t bloody well wait!!!

Hope you enjoy Videotape as mush as I do: