AF9

It’s 2 AM, I’m exhausted, my legs are already asleep as I write this, but I just have to get this post out of my system now while I still have some of those concert endorfines left. I thought the Lowlands gig was great, but that was merely an appetizer compared to this lavish spread! What a great show…

Even though we got in quite late (first attempting to sell our left over ticket, but with no result as there were quite a few vendors out there) we were still able to get to about the fifth row, centre stage at 19:30. Up until the last moment I was afraid this massive lump of a guy was going to stand in front of me, but I was lucky and had an excellent view.
There was a big roar when Arcade Fire wlaked on stage and they went straight into Black Mirror, full on, no holding back. Un deux trois dit miroir noir!!

AF2

The setlist:
Black Mirror
Neighborhood #2 (Laika)
No Cars Go
Haiti
I’m Sleeping In A Submarine
Black Wave/Bad Vibrations
In the Back Seat (wonderful!)
Neon Bible (followed by Age of Consent)
Intervention
The Well & the Lighthouse
Antichrist Television Blues
Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels) (standout song of the evening in my book!)
Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)
Rebellion (Lies)encore:
Keep The Car Running
Wake Up

So about 17 songs in total. I have to say the sound in the Heineken Music Hall was good, at least from where we were standing. Only comment would be that Win’s mic seemed a bit low in the mix at the start of a few songs, but that was soon fixed.

AF3

Although we were close to the front, only about half of the people around us were really singing and dancing. I soon noticed the ‘hardcore’ group of AF-fans jumping about to my right, towards the violin girls. Wish we were stood over there too, it looked like a lot of fun and Regine even gave that part of the crowd a special thank you after a few songs.
Altogether though the audience was into the show and things definitely heated up after a while, particularly after the magic Power Out – Rebellion combo: that’s what making music is all about! Win did make one or two comments telling the people in the seats to get off their asses, maybe it was a bit tame at the back.

I don’t know if I was imagining things, but Regine seemed a bit emotional after singing a beautiful version of In The Back Seat, it really struck a chord with me tonight: “my family tree’s losing all its leaves…”
I got two of my three wish list songs (Tunnels and Black Wave, but sadly not Headlights Look Like Diamonds) and the very unexpected bonus of I’m Sleeping In A Submarine. At oone point Win came into the audience and stood just a few feet in front of me. I got all excited, fumbled to get my camera and of course only got an extremely blurry shot…

AF4

All in all it was a great night! I loved watching William and Richard running across the stage like men posessed, hitting everything in their path, Win starting to smile more and more as the show went on (retorting “I know what you mean man” when someone in shouted out “wake up” in between songs) and of course the lovely Regine… She’s just such a joy to watch with her little dances (Bjork-esque sometimes) and her facial expressions (especially the mischievous looks into the crowd).

AF1

They have such a great dynamic between them all, this band definitely has magic happening on stage and I for one can’t get enough.

Here’s a short bit of Regine singing Haiti during the concert (and Win and William abusing their guitars).
[Excuse the poor quality of the pictures and film…]

