Finally, as it is now officially December, I’m allowed to indulge in one of my favourite pastimes: listmaking! Later tonight Dutch magazine OOR is going to announce their highly regarded top ten singles of the year. I’m curious how they’ll compare to my personal picks, so here goes!

Brokenbranches Top 10 Singles Of 2007

10. Opposites feat. Dio & Willie Wartaal – Dom, Lomp & Famous
09. Editors – Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors
08. Patrick Watson – The Great Escape
07. Rock Plaza Central – Anthem For The Already Defeated
06. White Stripes – Icky Thump
05. Kate Nash – Foundations
04. Radiohead – 15  Step
03. Arcade Fire – Keep The Car Running
02. Amy Winehouse – Rehab
01. Gossip – Standing In The Way Of Control

Yes, Gossip dominate the top ten with their amazing rock anthem of 2007 Standing In The way Of Control. I still can’t get enough of it, Beth for president!
As always it was hell choosing, but as the saying goes: kill your darlings. I’m happy with the final selection, every single one of them still gets regular airplay on my iPod, beating roughly 20 gigabytes of fierce competition. I just noticed three amazing women have made it to my top five, which I’m very happy about as female artists are too often overlooked for end of year lists.

I can’t resist posting my runners up, they may not be prom queen of 2007, but wallflowers they definitely ain’t:

11. Björk – Earth Intruders
12. Klaxons – Golden Skans
13. Cold War Kids – Hang Me Up To Dry
14. Bat For Lashes – What’s A Girl To Do
15. Feist – 1 2 3 4
16. De Jeugd Van Tegenwoordig – Shenkie
17. Bright Eyes – Four Winds
18. Damien Rice – Nine Crimes
19. Eddie Vedder – Hard Sun
20. Rufus Wainwright – Going To A Town
21. New Young Pony Club – The Bomb
22. Okkervil River – Our Life Is Not A Movie Or May Be
23. Rihanna – My Umbrella
24. Animal Collective – Peacebone
25. Scissor Sisters – She’s My Man

Soon to be posted: The Worst Singles Of 2007, the list that relentlessly triggers your gag reflex…

