OORlogo 

Following my personal ‘best of 2007’ list yesterday, here’s the final selection made by OOR magazine (albums, not singles). This list is a result of compiling the top 10 lists of 50 of Holland’s ‘most renowned’ popcritics and music writers.

10. Justice –
09. Interpol – Our Love To Admire
08. Mika – Life In Cartoon Motion
07. Editors – An End Has A Start
06. Bruce Springsteen -Magic
05. Radiohead – In Rainbows
04. Arcade Fire – Neon Bible
03. LCD Soundsystem – Sound Of Silver
02. Amy Winehouse – Back To Black
01. Arctic Monkeys – Favourite Worst Nightmare

Granted, best single & best album are two entirely different lists, but still there are four matches with my list: Editors, Radiohead, Arcade Fire and Amy Winehouse. I’m very surprised to see Mika’s made it to the top 10! I like the album too, but in a twinky bar kind of way: delicious snack, but nauseating in large quantities. I’m also surprised to see Editors are ranked higher than Interpol. I’m also more of an Editors girl myself, but any piece of ‘serious pop journalism’ I’ve read this year on the Editors-Interpol tug of war has favoured the latter.
As for the dance contingent in the list: I can’t really comment as it’s not my cup of  tea. I definitely liked Justice’s D.A.N.C.E. and LCD Soundsystem’s North American Scum, but I would never run out to get either album.

Interestingly, Arcade Fire’s Neon Bible just beat Radiohead to the chase, as was also the case in my personal top 10 (and those in the know will realise I struggled not to automatically stick Radiohead at the top but give it some fair consideration). Well done to the Montreal kids! 
I’m glad to see Amy Winehouse made it to the top three, even though the OOR representative in the radio show last night argued it was probably more due to the hullabaloo around Amy than her music. Well I disagree. If anything, all the media frenzy has made me play her music less out of sheer fatigue, which is a shame because that album is “well decent” and deserves to be up there.

I’m not convinced Arctic Monkeys deserve the top spot for the second year running (apparently this only ever happened to Elvis Costello before, he dominated the list in both 1977 and 1978 with My Aim Is True and This Year’s Model respectively). Even though Favourite Worst Nightmare is a great album, for me, it definitely didn’t pack the same punch as Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not.

And as for Bruce, well… My mom will be happy to see him in the top 10, she saw him in the Gelredome last Saturday and enjoyed the show immensely.
All in all, replace Mika by Gossip and it’s a list I can live with!

