3VOOR12
Yes indeed, more listmania. The upper crust of the Dutch alternative radio listening audience has voted for the “2007 Song Of The Year” through the 3VOOR12 website:

10. Interpol – The Heinrich Maneuver
09. Damien Rice – 9 Crimes
08. Snow Patrol – Shut Your Eyes
07. Moke – Last Chance
06. Foo Fighters – The Pretender
05. Arctic Monkeys – Brianstorm
04. C-Mon & Kypski feat. Pete Philly – Make My day
03. Pete Philly & Perquisite – Time Flies
02. 30 Seconds To Mars – The Kill
01. Editors – Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors

The Dutch audience has obviously decided to vote very patriotically with no less than three local acts in the top 10 (Moke, C-Mon & Kypski and Pete Philly & Perquisite). I have to say I’m surprised to see Moke up there. I’m all for homegrown produce (even if the singer’s Northern Irish), but that song never really did it for me. I love the two tracks featuring Pete Philly though, probably some of the highest quality Dutch music export in years.  

The Moke apparition pales in comparison to the shock at the number 2 in the list though. Seriously: 30 Seconds To Mars?? I can’t even find the words to express the insult to all the phenomenal releases of 2007 to have this eyeliner-abusing-howler monkey in second position…

I can definitely live with the Editors at the top of the list, though I can’t help but feel that some gems have been left out. And on the subject of left out gems and homegrown produce: what a pity Anouk released her amazing new single Good God so late in the year, because I’m sure it would have made it to many a list (certainly my top 25) had it been around a bit earlier.

Anouk – Good God

You can see the whole 3VOOR12 2007 Song Of The Year list here.

