In keeping with my last post I’m sticking with “exciting things from Ireland”. As it happens, the boys from Bell X1 had a very creative year in 2007. Besides releasing Tour De Flock they came up with an excellent idea to raise money for Oxfam’s Make Trade Fair campaign: they called up everyone in their little black book of who’s who in the Irish music scene and put together a collective called The Cake Sale.

The Cake Sale

The result is an interesting mix of predominantly Irish musicians, writers and vocalists, with members of Bell X1, The Frames, The Thrills, Snow Patrol and singer songwriters such as Lisa Hannigan (singing the wonderful track Needles, penned by Damien Rice despite their ‘artistic break up’), Gemma Hayes and Neil Hannon. Read the full story on The Cake Sale’s MySpace.

One of the stand out tracks is the sweet and innocent Some Surprise, with vocals by Lisa Hannigan and Gary Lightbody. They recorded their vocals at different times and in different countries, but judging by the end result it was worth the gamble. The track has already appeared in an episode of Grey’s Anatomy in the US.

Ireland saw the release of The Cake Sale in November 2006, UK and North America followed in 2007, with all royalties being donated to Oxfam. Sadly it’s not available on Dutch shelves yet, but it can be ordered online.

The full list of Cake Vendors:
Rob Bochnik (guitar The Frames)
Ollie Cole (solo & guitar Turn)
Brian Crosby (guitar Bell X1)
Conor Deasy (vocals The Thrills)
Dave Geraghty (multi instrumentalist Bell X1 & solo)
Emm Gryner (singer songwriter)
Lisa Hannigan (singer, previously with Damien Rice)
Neil Hannon (vocals The Divine Comedy)
Glen Hansard (solo & vocals The Frames)
Gemma Hayes (singer songwriter)
Graham Hopkins (drummer, previously with Therapy?)
Kevin Horan (piano The Thrills)
Colm Mac Ion Iomaire (violin & keyboard The Frames)
Padraic McMahon (guitar & bass The Thrills)
Gary Lightbody (vocals Snow Patrol)
Matt Lunson (singer songwriter)
Paul Noonan (vocals Bell X1)
Nina Persson (solo & vocals The Cardigans)
Dominic Phillips (bass player Bell X1)
Damien Rice (singer songwriter)
Ken Rice (Irish Chamber Orchestra)
Josh Ritter (singer songwriter)
Daniel Ryan (guitar The Thrills)
Nick Seymour (producer & bass Crowded House)