crossing-border-logo

Oh for the joy of music festivals, I do love them so. Even the ever so slightly uppity and sophisticated Crossing Border, which mainly gets this vibe from the rather posh venue: the royal theatre in The Hague.

I started the evening off with the delightful and somewhat Arcade Fire reminiscent Ra Ra Riot from Syracuse, New York. They were great fun to watch live on stage, really giving it their all. A very lively show, great poppy songs with singer Wes Miles’ smooth and relatively high pitched voice pleasant to listen to. The nowadays seemingly fashionable incorporation of cello and violin didn’t feel at all forced and really added to the music.

ra-ra-riot
thanks to axelman247

We then peeked in on Rachel Unthank and The Winterset, who I had only seen before during the Mercury Music Prize show. I was curious if all of their stuff was really that folky, and actually, it was even folkier. There were songs of laddies and there was clogg dancing. Yes you read it right, clogg dancing. It was interesting and the small room they played was packed, but we didn’t last long.

We also payed a brief visit to Van Dyke Parks and Inara George, whose delicate songs and lush orchestration were perfectly set in the grand main room of the theatre. And we stopped by an interview with Louis Theroux, who also managed to jam-pack the foyer he was in.

Although I do like mr. Theroux, I was getting very impatient: time to move in order to catch the beginning of the band I’ve been waiting so long to see live for the first time: Death Cab For Cutie. What a treat! The band seemed to be very relaxed and enjoying themselves, despite the odd technical glitch. I was lucky enough to be served a wonderful double whammy in this my first DCFC gig: the beautiful little gem of a song that is I Will Follow You Into The Dark, immediately followed by the majestic I Will Possess Your Heart, with that amazing 4,5 minute build up.

dcfc
thanks to axelman247

For the old school DCFC lovers they threw in some Transatlanticism delights such as The New Year, Title and Registration, The Sound Of Settling and the title track perfectly finishing up the encore: “I want you so much closer…”. I was more than satisfied, but dit miss Tiny Vessels and Lack Of Colour, my two personal favourites from that album. However, no complaints on the festival front, can’t wait for Crossing Border part two tomorrow!

I gladly leave you with all 8,5 tantalising minutes worth of the eerie (see the lyrics below) I Will Possess Your Heart by Death Cab For Cutie.

How I wish you could see the potential
The potential of you and me
It’s like a book elegantly bound
But in a language you can’t read just yet

You got to spend some time, love
You got to spend some time with me
And I know that you’ll find love
I will possess your heart

There are days when outside your window
I see my reflection as I slowly pass
And I long for this mirrored perspective
When we’ll be lovers, lovers at last

You got to spend some time, love
You got to spend some time with me
And I know that you’ll find love
I will possess your heart

You reject my advances and desperate pleas
I won’t let you let me down so easily
So easily

You got to spend some time, love
You got to spend some time with me
And I know that you’ll find love
I will possess your heart

