florence amanda

Brokenbranches is known to be a bit of a tomboy. I don’t own a single skirt, lipstick just seems a waste of time as I can’t be bothered to retouch and my social circle is made up of 80% male specimens. This is reflected in my music collection: 80% male specimens. Lilith Fair‘s 2010 edition certainly won’t be marked in my calendar.

This is not a matter of principle, I have nothing against female artists in general. It’s just that so many of them are crap (pardon my Dutch). It’s so hard to find the needles in the gimongous haystack of Leannes, Didos, Faiths, Taylors, Leonas and Katies (the Melua one gets my goat).

But sure enough they’re out there! Following in the fabulous footsteps of Blondie, Chrissie Hynde, Kate Bush or more recently Bjork, PJ Harvey and Lykke Li is a legion of gutsy gals and sassy sisters. Uncompromisingly unique and and wickedly talented.

Today we’ll direct the brokenbranches spotlight towards two such dames: Florence + The Machine and Amanda Blank. Florence Welch’s songs are like mini adventures packed with witt, heartache and even some harp. Amanda Blank is a self proclaimed ‘trashy boastful bitch MC‘ and has collaborated with the likes of M.I.A., Santigold and Spank Rock.

Florence + The Machine currently have the single Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)  from the album Lungs out, and be sure to check out their awesome version of Cold War Kids’ Hospital Beds and Beyonce’s Halo. Amanda Blank’s first track off the album I Love You is Might Like You Better, also don’t pass up her cover/remix with Diplo of Santigold’s I’m A Lady

Or better yet, go see these ladies rock it live, for instance at Lowlands next month!

Florence + The Machine – A Kiss With A Fist Is Better Than None

Spank Rock feat. Amanda Blank – Bump (watch out for Amanda at 3:10)

