DSCN1813

In about 15 minutes festival bud MB is coming to pick me up for our favourite annual road trip: the drive to Lowlands!! Apparently they are expecting thunder, torrential downpour and even hailstones for this afternoon, so the line in front of the gates will be something to look forward to.

There’s just enough time to sum up my expectations for the 2009 edition. Top of the bill for me this year are Florence + The Machine (have been listening to her album non stop), The Maccabees, Grizzly Bear, Bon Iver, Vampire Weekend and Fanfarlo. Can not wait to see these bands live!!  Hmm indie galore I’m just realising now.

My worries are Fever Ray (will it translate live?), Little Boots (besides New In Town I thought the album was a bit so so), Lily Allen (how will that voice hold up on a massive stage?) and The Prodigy (can they live up to our immense nineties expectations?).

I’m expecting full on party mode during Dizzee Rascal, 2 Many DJ’s, Basement Jaxx and La Roux, they should have the crowd shakin their bits to the hits.

I’m hoping to be surprised by The Arctic Monkeys (Josh Homme & The Monkeys, should be inetersting!), Jack Penate (supposedly great live) and the exquisitely scary Grace Jones. And all signs point to Them Crooked Vultures for the “mystery act” on Saturday! They’ll definitely show up on my manic logistical plan if that’s the case.

But most of all I can’t wait to just get there! Brokenbranches recap on Monday folks.

