roomroof

If I had to pick one tune that infiltrated every fiber of 2014 it would have to be Pharrell’s Happy. At first I liked it, then loved it for a bit before intensely hating those five frantic opening notes every bloody time they came on the radio… Which is probably the average life cycle of any major hit song. And can someone please explain to me how one feels like a room without a roof!?

Anyway, as opposed to last year’s ear worms, Happy didn’t make the cut. Besides, it was actually released in 2013 already! You will, however, be treated to a delectable smörgåsbord of 50 bites of audio-yumminess from 2014, with the top 25 sporting eye watering visuals too. As per usual you can check out the entire top 50 in my Spotify playlist too, or for my fellow ultimate listomaniacs (loveya!) my ridiculously large ‘2014 long list‘.

Please do share your faves with me too and shout at me about the ones I was oblivious to in the comments!

25.  Tiga – Bugatti

Clean, concise & devilishly sexy, Tiga doesn’t waste a single beat or syllable.The video is style perfection too.

24.  Clean Bandit – Rather Be (feat. Jess Glynne)

Such a chirpy tune! A simple catchy love song that takes you back to memories of a high school sweetheart.

23.  Real Estate – Talking Backwards

West Coast jingle jangle at its best, even though the band is from New York. Perfect roadtrip song.

22.  Usher – Good Kisser

Sultry, minimalistic and funky at the same time, Usher is back in shape!

21.  Sinkane – How We Be

A slow clapping head bopper, bringing together the sounds of Sudan and London the way Sinkane does so well. Was lucky enough to catch the band live at Berlin Festival this year and they killed it.

20.  Sia – Chandelier

If you’re anything like me and you’re always wondering what on earth Sia is mumbling about, you might find this tutorial very amusing. On a more serious note: this song tackles Sia’s problem with drinking in a suitably dramatic fashion, I think it’s her over the top masterpiece so far.

19.  Bombay Bicycle Club – Luna

This song is the perfect example of what I love about BBC: seemingly soft spoken conservative Brits who surprise you with little bursts of joyous excitement bubbling just under the surface! Also: who can refuse a video with synchronised swimming?

18.  Dan Croll – From Nowhere

This song is the very first thing I heard by Dan Croll and I was immediately smitten.

17.  Elbow – New York Morning

Oh Guy. You’ve done it again. Be sure to check out the video about the lovely Dennis & Lois!

16.  The War On Drugs – Under The Pressure

Yes, it’s the song with the ridiculously spun out ending, but if you afford yourself the time to sit back and enjoy it in full it’s so worth it. And if you get to hear it jammed out live it makes complete sense.

15.  Tove Lo – Habits (Stay High)

A refreshingly honest take on breaking up from this Swedish singer, who also wrote songs for Icona Pop and Girls Aloud.

14.  Flume – Drop the Game

Even if you think the song has been played to death, at least watch the video for the incredible dancer. I still haven’t tired of this soulful stomper.

13.  Typhoon – Liefste

Typhoon’s much lauded 2014 album Lobi Da Basi is the cream of the crop in Dutch hip hop for 2014, including incredible live performances with his big band. This sweet small tune about the small aggravations that can niggle at a relationship is one of my favourites.

12.  SOHN – Artifice

SOHN has made an album full of tracks for those looking to wallow in misery, with Artifice as the crowning glory. “Somebody better show how me how I feel, cause I know I’m not at the wheel”

11.  Sam Smith – Stay With Me

My how Sam has grown! No I don’t mean in the waistline.. I saw him play a small venue in March, when he was almost painfully shy at times. It’s great to see how 2014 has made Sam Smith into an MTV VMA-show worthy performer. Plus hallelujah for coming out! Not that he was kidding anyone 😉

10.  Hozier – Take Me To Church

I’m sucked in by the darkness and outrage in this Hozier song. The video is a worthy companion and controversial to say the least, well worth a watch.

9.  Banks – Drowning

I love the rhythm Banks uses in her lyrics, she delivers them with such intensity. She also reminds me of Aaliyah in a subtle way, which is a cool throwback.

8.  Mapei – Don’t Wait

Don’t underestimate the radio friendly pop sweetness of Don’t Wait, Mapei turned out to be a lot more kickass than expected when I saw her at Lowlands! I’m curious what she’ll come up with next year.

7.  St. Vincent – Digital Witness

I think this is my favourite track yet of the ever quirky and slightly intimidating St. Vincent (who was also at Lowlands and ran off stage after throwing a tantrum).

6.  Damon Albarn – Everyday Robots

Sharing its theme with St. Vincent’s song, Damon quietly ponders our empty social media lives.

5.  Future Islands – Seasons (Waiting On You)

Apparently I’m one of the few people who heard and loved this song before seeing the legendary Letterman performance. Still not sure whether Samuel T. Herring’s intense antics are for real or for show, but is doesn’t take away from the soulful eighties brilliance of this song!

4.  The Preatures – Is This How You Feel?

This is probably my most played tune of the summer. I just couldn’t get enough of the bouncy excitement Isabella Manfredi and Gideon Bensen bring to the song, very infectious .

3.  Röyksopp & Robyn – Do It Again

Ok to be honest I am still upset with Lowlands for this massive oversight. How on earth did they not book the Robyn & Röksopp tour!? Thankfully their collaborative album also contains the beautifully reflective Monument for me to work through this grief.

2.  Stromae – Tous Les Mêmes

It was a tough struggle at the top of his list, but in a very respectable second position we find the illusive Belgian genius Paul van Haver, better known as Stromae. I love the whole album Racine Carrée, and Tous Les Mêmes is one of the standout singles. His clever use of African rumba rhythms and European dance combined with very witty and sometimes razor sharp lyrics make Stromae one of the best artists 2014 had to offer in my book! And so goddamn stylish too.

1.  Jungle – Busy Earnin’

I was trying to remember the massive impression Busy Earnin’ made on me the first time I heard it, but I’ve played it so often now it’s become like a coundtrack to my everyday life already. I was lucky enough to see the band no less than three times this year and they didn’t disappoint once. They’ve got soul, sex and sweet harmonies that will bring out the hipshaker in even the most static music lovers. Perfect tunes to get a bit grabby with your significant other to…

Also, I need to learn that dance!

Numbers 25 – 50 in no particular order:

Ariana Grande & The Weeknd – Love Me Harder

Beyoncé & Jay-Z – Drunk in Love

Caribou – Can’t Do Without You

Chad VanGaalen – Where Are You?

Damien Rice – I Don’t Want To Change You

Flying Lotus – Never Catch Me (feat. Kendrick Lamar)

George Ezra – Budapest

Glass Animals – Gooey

Half Moon Run – Call Me in the Afternoon

Katy Perry – Dark Horse

Kwabs – Walk

Little Dragon – Klapp Klapp

Mac Demarco – Salad Days

Michael Jackson – Love Never Felt so Good

Oliver – Light Years Away

Paloma Faith – Can’t Rely on You

RY X – Berlin

School Is Cool – Black Dog Panting

Schoolboy Q – Man Of The Year

Ta-ku – Beggining To End

Temples – Shelter Song

Ten Walls – Walking With Elephants

TRAAMS – Fibbist

Villagers – Occupy Your Mind

Wild Beasts – Wanderlust

